Business Improvement District

Next BID Board Meeting

The BID Board of Directors will hold a special-called meeting on Thursday, January 3 at 4pm. The meeting will take place at NewTown Macon’s offices (555 Poplar Street).

This meeting is open to the public.



September 10, 2018

The Downtown Macon BID is approaching its first year of existence as a nascent organization in the downtown revitalization effort.

Your elected board members have been working attentively on your behalf to ensure the deployment of services tightly align with the goal of a cleaner and safer downtown Macon!

See below for a high level recap of BID happenings over the last 10 months:

  • In June of 2018, Macon-Bibb County transferred the initial collection of $340,557.08 to NewTown Macon’s BID management account. Thus far, the BID has not incurred any substantial expenses, due to the fact that public funds require an involved procurement process.
  • At the December 7, 2017 meeting the board voted to explore the cost effectiveness of hiring third party vendors. Therefore, NewTown issued 4 separate Request for Proposals [RFP] for both administrative and district improvement services. The RFP deadline was March 30, 2018.
  • With the returned RFPs, the Directors decided to focus on securing a company for the district’s landscaping and hospitality ambassadors. While no contracts have been signed for either service, we have two viable options and hope to announce the selected companies once terms have been agreed upon and contracts have been executed.

Please know the Board is working as swiftly and diligently as possible on your behalf. The Board remains committed to using your investment carefully to ensure optimal success.

Check back later for further updates!

BID Board Elections

On September 19, 2017, property owners in downtown Macon met the Cox Capitol Theatre to elect an inaugural Board to manage the Downtown Macon BID.  The following seven individuals will serve on the BID Board:


The Hon. Robert A.B. Reichert, Mayor of Macon-Bibb

Larry Brumley, Appointee, Chair of the Board of Directors, NewTown Macon

Three Year Term (2018-2021)

David Sanda- Capital City Bank

Three Year Term (2017-2020)

Jean Bragg, 530 Cherry Street Building Renovations, LLC; 543 Poplar St., LLC

Terry Henderson, Bumbledawg Enterprises, LLC

Two Year Term (2017-2019)

Wes Griffith- Griffith Family Investment; 543 Cherry Street Building, LLC; Mulberry Street Parking, LLC

Tom Wight- 577 Mulberry Street LLC; 240 Second Street, LLC

Thank you to each property owner that voted in favor of a cleaner and safer Downtown Macon!